JANELLE_IS_QUEEN.jpg

Image retrieved from http://www.upworthy.com/dear-sexist-music-industry-here-is-janelle-monae-giving-you-some-real-talk

I love music. I have loved music for most of my life. I took singing and piano lessons for most of my life, but my love for music goes deeper than that. I am constantly listening to music. It can always cheer me up or set my mood. I believe that the world would be a bleak place without music because music is everywhere: movies, celebrations, accompanying activities, and many more. in fact, for many years of my childhood I dreamed about being a well-known singer. Although, this dream may have never existed if I knew about the discrimination that women in the music industry face. In Canada, ” women are least likely to work in music production roles (6 percent) and in sales and business development (7 percent), while most work in promotion and marketing (20 percent)” (Abdigir). Other issues include an unequal amount of women nominations in award shows (especially the Juno Award last year), an imbalance of women and men performers at music festivals and event, and legal situations including harassment (such as Kesha’s battle with her producer Dr. Luke). Luckily, women in the music business are working to put an end to this inequality. One of these women is Stacey Howchin, the founder of the Toronto Women in Music Collective. Stacey states that “[she] thinks we’re reaching a bit of a breaking point where more people are speaking up, and bad behaviour and lack of diversity is being called out instead of swept under the rug” (Abdigir). Stacey schedules private meet-ups for members and book speakers to discuss a variety of topics, she also plans women-centred showcases spanning all different genres of music. Being such a huge fan of music, I find it extremely difficult to discover accounts of sexism in the music industry. Music should bring people joy, but instead it brings pain and sadness to women whom have the talent to pursue this difficult career. I hope that more people will join women like Stacey in the fight to end inequality in the music industry.

 

